18 days to go…

Well. Time sure flies when you’re having fun (ie going to college, editing a newspaper, eating, sleeping, breathing & running a few 18 odd miles of a Saturday…) – and now there’s only 18 more days left till M-Day: the Dublin City Marathon.

A lot has happened since I last blogged (apologies on that front – as I said, I’ve been pretty busy) and now we are in the final stages before the big day. Last weekend I completed 18 miles, my longest run to date. While there was times that I struggled, I showed no signs of needing to give up – something the girl I was at the start of this training programme would have scoffed at; as I’ve said before 18 seconds of running for the bus was more my forte.

However week in, week out, I’ve steadily improved. The miles rose, as did my fitness and endurance levels. I completed a five miler, the Frank Duffy ten mile and finally the Dublin Half. All were a challenge at the time but each were conquered, leaving only the final hurdle to jump now.

There is no denying I’ve come a long way and with such a small amount of time left I find myself looking back on all that this experience has given me – and that may sound cheesy but without a doubt, starting running has been one of the best decisions I’ve made. I’ve decided I’ll share all that in my last installment of the Marathon Diaries in 19 days time… so watch this space!

In the meantime, I’ll be enjoying the rest of Sober October, my last ‘long’ run this weekend, eating well and, as David says, trying not to eff up now…

‘Til next time,

-Sorcha.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

